Team 20
Team 1635
Team 42
Team 35

SCORE Announces 2008 Toyota Milestone Awards

LOS ANGELES—After 1,692.5 dusty and rugged desert racing miles, 14 of the world’s best desert racers have survived the challenges of the 2008 SCORE Desert Series to earn coveted 2008 SCORE Toyota Milestone Awards. The 14 drivers earned their prestigious honors by finishing every required mile in the World’s Foremost Desert Racing Series.

The 2008 SCORE Toyota Milestone Award winners will all be honored Saturday night, December 6, along with the 2008 SCORE Desert Series point champions and 2008 SCORE Off-Roadsman of the Year winners at Terrible’s Primm Valley Resort in Primm, Nevada.

Leading this year’s class of SCORE Toyota Milestone Award Winners are four drivers who have earned their third honor since this award was instituted in 1986.

Making up the group of triple winners are: B.J. Baldwin, Las Vegas, SCORE Trophy-Truck Ford F-150 (2006, 2007, 2008); Damen Jefferies, Apple Valley, Calif., SCORE Trophy-Truck, Chevy Silverado (1997, 1999, 2008); Rod Hall, Reno, Nev., Stock Mini (1987, 1988, 2008) and Donald Moss, Sacramento, Calif., Class 3, Ford Bronco (2004, 2006, 2008).
Trophy Truck

Toyota is presenting these prestigious awards to the world’s toughest desert racers for the 23rd consecutive year.

“Toyota is proud to honor the world’s best desert racing drivers,” said Les Unger, national motorsports manager at Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A. “For over two decades, we have had the privilege of presenting the SCORE Toyota Milestone Awards to the toughest racers on the planet.”

Rod Hall will be joined on the stage by his son Chad Hall who won a SCORE Toyota Milestone this year in the Stock Full class in a Hummer H3Alpha. This marks the first time in the history of the award that a father and son have both won the award.

Besides Chad Hall, the other drivers winning their first SCORE Toyota Milestone Awards this season were: Robbie Pierce, Chuck Dempsey, B.J. Richardson, Cory Boyer, Adam Pfankuch, Kevin Carr, Marcos Nunez, Heidi Steele and Ramon Fernandez. Steele is the first female driver to have ever earned this award.

2008 SCORE Toyota Milestone Awards
14 Racers completed every required mile in the five-race 2008 SCORE Desert Series)

-B.J. Baldwin, Las Vegas, Chevy Silverado (SCORE Trophy-Truck)
-Damen Jefferies, Apple Valley, Calif., Chevy Silverado (SCORE Trophy-Truck)
-Robbie Pierce, Santee, Calif., Ford F-150 (SCORE Trophy-Truck)
-B.J. Richardson, Las Vegas, Bunderson-Chevy (Class 1)
-Chuck Dempsey, Oak Hills, Calif., Jefferies-Chevy (Class 1)
-Adam Pfankuch, Carlsbad, Calif., Mirage-VW (Class 1-2/1600)
-Cory Boyer, Bakersfield, Calif., Lothringer-VW (Class 1-2/1600)
-Donald Moss, Sacramento, Calif., Ford Broncoc (Class 3)
-Kevin Carr, San Diego, VW Baja Bug (Class 5)
-Marcos Nunez, Ensenada, Mexico, VW Baja Bug (Class 5/1600)
-Heidi Steele, San Clemente, Calif., Ford Ranger (Class 7SX)
-Ramon Fernandez, Ensenada, Mexico, VW Sedan (Class 11)
-Chad Hall, Reno, Nev., Hummer H3Alpha (Stock Full)
-Rod Hall, Reno, Nev., Hummer H3 (Stock Mini)

Source Styling & Performance